2012 AMCC Academic All-Conference, Chi Alpha Sigma Announced

Release Date:
April 13, 2012
The Office of Sports Information
(716) 649-7900 ext. 333

Complete list of AMCAA Academic All-Conference

PITTSBURGH, PA – The Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference (AMCC) is proud to celebrate the academic achievement of more than 640 student-athletes who participate in AMCC championship-sponsored sports teams during the 2011-2012 academic year. Hilbert College recognizes 56 student-athletes, who have earned Academic All-Conference Honors by carrying a cumulative grade point average of 3.2 or higher entering the spring 2012 semester. 
Mount Aloysius College was honored with the 2012 Peak Performance Award.  This inaugural award is given to the AMCC institution with the highest percentage of student-athletes being named to the Academic All-Conference Team.
The following is a list of the Hilbert College Academic All-Conference team members (home town, high school) and sport(s) they competed in:
Amber Bailey (New Berlin, NY/Unadilla Valley) soccer; Robbi Bailey (Saranac, NY/Saranac) soccer; Kateland Ball (Hammondsport, NY/Hammondsport) soccer, basketball and softball; Nicole Blair (Syracuse, NY/East Syracuse Minoa) soccer; Julie Bossard (Arkport, NY/Canisteo-Greenwood) soccer and basketball; Ryan Brewster (Corning, NY/Addison) basketball; Patrick Brooks (Orchard Park, NY/Orchard Park) golf; Tiana Cheasman (North Cohocton, NY/Wayland Cohocton) basketball; Lea Church (Auburn, NY/Dona L West) volleyball; Breana Cline (Sodus, NY/Sodus) soccer; Rachel Collier (Peru, NY/Peru) softball; Tyler Coniglio (Tonawanda, NY/Kenmore East) soccer; Stephen Crane (Williamsville, NY/Williamsville South) cross country; Jenna Crans (Addison, NY/Addison) basketball; Robert Cuomo (Chittenango, NY/Christian Brothers Academy) basketball; Maria DelMonaco (Orchard Park, NY/Orchard Park) soccer; Andrew Duncan (Valencia, CA/Golden Valley) volleyball; Nicole Estep (Barker, NY/Barker) soccer; Amber Grosch (Depew, NY/Depew) soccer, basketball and softball; Allison Hall (Tonawanda, NY/Tonawanda) softball; Alyssa Hulbert (Tonawanda, NY/Kenmore East) soccer; Matthew Hunt (Holbrook, NY/Centereach) cross country; James Knapp (Lockport, NY/St. Mary’s) soccer; Rachel Kwiatkowski (West Seneca, NY/Orchard Park) volleyball; Jenah Labuski (Horseheads, NY/Horseheads) basketball; Patrick Lagueras (Rochester, NY/Charles Finney) baseball; Kayla Lewis (Rochester, NY/Greece Arcadia) volleyball; Maria Linares (Lackawanna, NY/Lackawanna) cross country; Michael Maritato (Kenmore, NY/Kenmore West) basketball; Jill Martucci (Hamburg, NY/Hamburg) softball; David Mellerski (Orchard Park, NY/Orchard Park) volleyball; Sean McGrath (Webster, NY/Webster Schroeder) baseball; Matthew Militello (Depew, NY/Lancaster) baseball;  Jessica Morey (Gloversville, NY/Mayfield) soccer; Katie Newton (Elba, NY/Elba) soccer and basketball; Kayla Norman (Brockport, NY/Brockport) soccer; Jim Pernick (Tonawanda, NY/St. Joseph’s Collegiate Institute) golf and baseball; Joe Pernick (Tonawanda, NY/St. Joseph’s Collegiate Institute) golf and baseball; Katherine Pettis (Churchville, NY/Churchville Chili) softball; Stephen Phillips (Penfield, NY/Penfield) volleyball; Chelsea Reischuck (South Wales, NY/East Aurora) volleyball and softball; Emili Ripley (Batavia, NY/Notre Dame) softball; Jessie Rollan-Bystrak (East Aurora, NY/East Aurora) soccer; Eric Russell (Hickory, NY/Iroquois) soccer; John Sadowski (Elma, NY/Iroquois) cross country; Sara Schmidt (Rochester, NY/Irondequoit) soccer; Frederick Sickau (Eden, NY/Eden) volleyball; Stephanie Smith (Waterloo, NY/Waterloo) cross country; Trevor Stark (Fresh Meadows, NY/Robert F. Kennedy) basketball; Timothy Staub (Oil City, PA/Oil City) baseball; Sean Sticek (South Dayton, NY/Pine Valley) baseball; Tiara Thomas (Geneva, NY/Geneva) volleyball; Megan Van Norman (Mount Morris, NY/York) soccer; Adam Weaver (Stow, OH/Archbishop Hoban) volleyball; Matthew Williams (Orchard Park, NY/Orchard Park) cross country; and Mary Zinni (Batavia, NY/Batavia) soccer and basketball.
The AMCC consists of 10 institutions from across New York, Pennsylvania and Ohio who sponsor 14 different men’s and women’s athletics programs competing for an automatic qualifier to the NCAA championships.
In addition, on Thursday, May 2, at the Hilbert College Athletic Awards Reception, the Chi Alpha Sigma’s 2012 New York Theta Chapter will be formally introduced. The National College Athlete Honor Society recognizes junior and senior student-athletes who carry a grade point average of 3.4 or higher. Second-year members are Michael Maritato, Jill Martucci, and Matt Militello. These three seniors will be joined by first year inductees: Nicole Blair, Michael Cavanagh (Orchard Park, NY/Orchard Park) lacrosse; Stephen Crane, Maria DelMonaco, Amber Grosch, Allison Hall, James Knapp, Rachel Kwiatkowski, Jessica Morey, Katie Newton, Kayla Norman, Katherine Pettis, Emili Ripley, and Stephanie Smith.
The Athletic Awards Reception will be held in the Swan Auditorium with the program beginning at 6:30 pm.

Hilbert College, located in suburban Hamburg, N.Y., south of Buffalo, is a private four-year college founded in 1957 in the Catholic Franciscan tradition. With nearly 1,100 students, Hilbert is a dynamic Western New York college that offers career-focused majors, including one of the top criminal justice programs in the region, and more than 50 minors and concentrations. The college’s engaging, student-centered campus community offers numerous leadership, internship, and service learning opportunities from which students launch successful careers while making positive changes in their communities. The Hilbert Blueprint promotes a well-rounded student experience over four years – starting with the Foundations Seminar in the freshman year, followed by Sophomore Service, Junior Symposium, and culminating with the Senior Capstone. Hilbert has expanded its academic offerings with the college’s first graduate programs and new Accelerated Degree Programs geared to adult learners.