UVC Announces Volleyball All-Conference Team

Release Date:
April 12, 2012
The Office of Sports Information
(716) 649-7900 ext. 333

ROCHESTER, NY – The United Volleyball Conference announced its 2012 all-conference team with sophomore outside hitter Dave Evans of Stevens Institute of Technology being named the 2012 UVC Player of the Year.

Evans led the Ducks to a 9-2 record and the second seed in this weekend’s UVC Championship. He recorded a .316 hitting percentage in regular season conference play, while averaging 3.6 kills, 1.4 digs, and 0.5 blocks per set. Overall, he is averaging 3.4 kills and 1.6 digs per set.

Sophomore setter Connor Mortland earned first-team honors after leading New York University to an undefeated conference record in its first season in the UVC. He led all players, averaging 11.4 assists per set and added 2.1 digs per set.

Senior right side Nick Johnson and junior middle blocker Erin Kelly of Medaille College each repeated as first-team all-conference selections. Johnson, the 2011 UVC Player of the Year, hit .329 in conference play and averaged 3.5 kills per set. Kelly posted a .389 hitting percentage, while averaging 2.8 kills and 0.9 blocks per set.

Senior outside hitter Billy Gimello and junior setter EJ Wells-Spicer of Nazareth College also repeated as first-team all-conference choices. Gimello averaged 3.0 kills and 0.9 digs per set in regular season UVC play, while Wells-Spicer all setters with 404 assists (10.4 per set) and averaged 1.2 digs per set.

Junior middle hitter Matt Elgin of Vassar College was named to the first team after averaging 3.2 kills and 1.2 blocks per set in conference action. He led UVC hitters with a .411 hitting percentage.

Junior libero Christian LaDu of Vassar was chosen as UVC Libero/Defensive Specialist of the Year. He averaged 2.4 digs per set in conference play.

Freshman opposite Ian Tyger of Stevens was named UVC Rookie of the Year. He hit .283 in conference play and averaged 2.6 kills, 1.2 digs, and 0.9 blocks per set.

Jose Pina was selected as UVC Coach of the Year for leading NYU to an undefeated regular in regular season conference play and the top seed in the championship tournament.

United Volleyball Conference 2012 All-Conference Awards
Player of the Year: Dave Evans, Stevens Institute of Technology
Libero/Defensive Specialist of the Year: Christian LaDu, Vassar College  
Rookie of the Year: Ian Tyger, Stevens Institute of Technology
Coach of the Year: Jose Pina, New York University
First Team                                        
Name                                      Yr.         Position        School                                    
Matt Elgin                               Jr.           MH               Vassar College
Dave Evans                           So.          OH               Stevens Institute of Technology
Billy Gimello                          Sr.           OH               Nazareth College
Nick Johnson                        Sr.           RS               Medaille College
Erin Kelly                                Jr.            MB               Medaille College
Connor Mortland                   So.          S                  New York University
EJ Wells-Spicer                     Jr.           S                  Nazareth College
Second Team
Name                                      Yr.         Position        School                        
Nick Capriccio                      So.          MB                New York University
Pat Dodd                                Sr.          OH                New York University
Tyler Fauntlerot                     Jr.           OH                New York University
Tom Hannum                        Jr.           OH               Stevens Institute of Technology
Rob Kraft                                Jr.           MB                Nazareth College
Mike Van Tyne                       Sr.           OPP             SUNY New Paltz
Michael Vellutato                  So.          S                   Elmira College
Honorable Mention
Name                                      Yr.         Position        School                        
Kevin Aeckerle                       Fr.          S                   Stevens Institute of Technology
Trevor Barrett                         So.         OH                Medaille College
Nick Chan                               Sr.         OH                Bard College
Ryan Gelenitis                       So.        OH                Elmira College
Jay Hayes                               Sr.          L                   New York University
John Konow                           Jr.          S                   Vassar College
Christian LaDu                      Jr.          L                   Vassar College
Ryan Meller                             Sr.        OH                SUNY IT
Ryan Seifert                            So.       OH                 Stevens Institute of Technology
Chris Temple                         Jr.         OPP              D’Youville College
Ellis Walsh                             Sr.         RS                Nazareth College

Hilbert College, located in suburban Hamburg, N.Y., south of Buffalo, is a private four-year college founded in 1957 in the Catholic Franciscan tradition. With nearly 1,100 students, Hilbert is a dynamic Western New York college that offers career-focused majors, including one of the top criminal justice programs in the region, and more than 50 minors and concentrations. The college’s engaging, student-centered campus community offers numerous leadership, internship, and service learning opportunities from which students launch successful careers while making positive changes in their communities. The Hilbert Blueprint promotes a well-rounded student experience over four years – starting with the Foundations Seminar in the freshman year, followed by Sophomore Service, Junior Symposium, and culminating with the Senior Capstone. Hilbert has expanded its academic offerings with the college’s first graduate programs and new Accelerated Degree Programs geared to adult learners.